#2 Apple Topped Pork Loin

This recipe is one that my Grandmother cut out of a magazine. She is one of the first women in my life who inspired me with her cooking, baking, and elegant homemaking. Today she suffers from Parkinson’s Disease, and is unable to use her hands. One of her greatest joys now is picking out recipes to make with her daughter, my Mother. They pick out a complete meal each week, including a lavish dessert, to prepare for family dinner at my Grandma’s on Sunday. Her favorite recipes somehow always have alcohol (sometimes baked off, sometimes not) in the ingredients list!

This apple topped pork loin is one of the healthier recipes I’ve asked her to send me. It has some sugar (which can be substituted with maple syrup), and a touch of flour, but other than that it’s quite wholesome. My husband and I were able to fly to my hometown for Mother’s Day this year, and this is what they served for the special holiday dinner. I’ll never forget it.

Yield: 12-15 servings

INGREDIENTS

Rub:

  • 2 Tbs all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1 tsp ground mustard
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp rubbed sage
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 boneless pork loin roast (4-5 pounds)
  • 2 Tbs olive oil

Apple Topping:

  • 1-1/2 cups finely chopped peeled tart apples
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar or maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp ground mace

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small bowl, combine first seven ingredients and rub over the roast.
  2. In a large skillet, heat oil and brown roast on all sides.
  3. Bake in a shallow baking pan at 325 degrees for 1-1/2 hours.
  4. Combine the topping ingredients and spread over top of roast.
  5. Bake 1 to 1-1/2 hours longer or until a meat thermometer reads 160 degrees. Let stand for 10 minutes before slicing.

NOTES

If you’re missing mace or caraway seeds, the recipe will still be tasty without them. Also, you may substitute 1 Tbs prepared yellow mustard for the 1 tsp ground mustard called for.

Leave a comment