#5: Peaches and Cream Parfaits with Blueberries

My husband and I were recently told of a great local produce store near us. We checked it out and purchased some peaches. He likes the yellow fleshed, and I like the white, so we got a couple of both. Unfortunately, they couldn’t compare to his favorite, Georgia peaches, or my favorite, California peaches. I’m sorry, but Texas peaches (in our area) aren’t that great.

Luckily, we were able to transform them into a 5-minute, delicious and fairly healthy dessert that’s mostly homemade. I had some blueberries and granola on hand, but the dessert could be modified to fit another fruit (or simply have peaches) and to actually bake this dessert to perfection you could make your own granola. While I haven’t mastered the art of making granola, I‘ve stopped buying whipped cream, because when my grandmother baked she insisted on making it herself. It’s very easy and tastes much better than anything store-bought.

I served these parfaits when a friend of ours came over for dinner, and he surprised me when he commented on how much he liked the raisins (in the granola). Who knew peaches and blueberries and raisins could compliment each other so well?

Yield: 3 parfaits

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • ½ tsp vanilla
  • 2 peaches
  • ¼ cup blueberries
  • ¼ cup granola

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place the cream, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl and use a mixer to whip them until you achieve stiff peaks.
  2. Layer the fruit, whipped cream, and granola, in that order, in clear tumblers or another glass dish for serving.

 

Leave a comment