I won my husband over with pancakes. We had been dating for a few months, scratch that, a few weeks, and he had been away for a weeklong business trip. I missed him quite a lot and when he returned we planned to meet on his way home from the airport. We met in a grocery store parking lot, because his house was about 30 minutes from the house where I was staying. We intended to just talk for a while and go our separate ways home. Instead, I asked if he was hungry and insisted on coming over to make him pancakes. He emphatically agreed. The pancakes I made were from a Betty Crocker Cookbook I found at his house, which he was renting with two other guys from a middle-aged couple.

Nowadays, in our married life I attempt to bake and cook with as much whole wheat flour as possible. This is the best recipe I’ve found for pancakes, and it tastes wonderful with whole wheat flour! The first time I made them, Ben said they should be called “French Toast Pancakes”, so that’s what we call them.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 whole Large Eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 7 Tablespoons Whole-wheat Flour
  • 2 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup Greek Yogurt (I recommend full fat)

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place the Greek yogurt in a large bowl and sprinkle in the dry ingredients. Stir until just combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and vanilla, then pour them into the bowl with the yogurt mixture.
  3. Stir the dry and wet ingredients together until just combined. A little lumpiness is okay.
  4. Heat a griddle or skillet to 350 degrees and lightly grease with butter or nonstick spray. Drop the batter by ¼ cup portions onto the griddle and cook on the first side until bubbles form.
  5. Flip them to the other side and cook for another minute or so.

NOTES

Adapted from the Pioneer Woman

 

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Leave a comment