I’m writing to share why I became Catholic–what led me to convert in 2016. Sharing on this platform feels vulnerable, but I hope it inspires others to reflect and perhaps even share their own stories, either of faith or unbelief. 

From a young age I understood and accepted the basics of Christianity. I trusted in God’s love and tried to please Him. When I questioned the validity of Christianity, I found satisfying answers in books like “More than a Carpenter” and “Mere Christianity”.

In college, my question changed from “Is Christianity true?” to “Is Protestantism true?” I attended an Orthodox church for the first time and fell in love with high church liturgy–incense, chanting, candles, icons. I was also compelled by what backed up the claims of the Orthodox Church, writings of the Church Fathers. I started to believe that I needed the Bible along with Church tradition to guide me. I no longer agreed with the Protestant Reformer’s conviction, Sola Scriptura (“Scripture alone”).

After college, I met my now husband. Our relationship pushed me to evaluate Eastern Orthodoxy and Catholicism side by side, and choose which Christian tradition to pursue. The main question I wrestled with in this season was, “Did Christ found the Church with a pope?” I looked to writings of Church Fathers and early popes to get an understanding of how the Church developed and how early popes interacted with other bishops. What I read convinced me that there were popes very early in Christian history that played the role the Catholic Church claims the pope should

After deciding to become Catholic, I had some periods of second-guessing. What I came back to was the importance of a voice of authority in modern times. I wanted clear teaching on modern moral questions that was in continuity with what Christ taught and the early Church believed. I found that in the Catholic Church. 

There are many misconceptions about Catholicism. Since converting in 2016, I’ve come to better appreciate many teachings that once confused me, and love both Christ and His Church more deeply. I used to think the Catholic teaching on contraception was arbitrary and impractical, but now see the Church’s wisdom on sex as one aspect of a beautiful and whole understanding of the human person. Likewise, purgatory, devotion to Mary, and praying to saints once seemed like unnecessary add-ons to my own understanding of Christianity. I now see Catholic teaching on these topics as inspiring and more complete than my previous understanding.

There is a richness to Catholicism. I will never run out of saints or prayers to explore. I have found the Rosary, Eucharistic Adoration, and examinations of conscience to be particularly helpful in drawing nearer to God. The Catholic understanding of womanhood and motherhood has brought me a tremendous amount of peace as I live out my vocation as a wife and mother.

While I surely have much to learn, I’ll conclude with some encouragement that’s in the Bible of the Orthodox, Protestants and Catholics alike. “I am confident of this, that the one who began a good work among you will bring it to completion by the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:6

One thought on “Why I Became Catholic

  1. Thanks for sharing Rachel. I can see how you made this decision, and it makes sense with your caring heart for the unborn and desire to put being a mom and wife in a place of honor in your life before God. The Catholic church has remained faithful to its position on both regardless of the voice of modern culture, which is comforting in its consistency even to us who are not Catholic.

    Like

Leave a comment